Your one-stop web resource providing safety and security information to manufacturers

The Japan Information-technology Promotion Agency (IPA) inked a pact to adopt the ISASecure industrial automation controls (IAC) certification program.

The agreement with the ISA Security Compliance Institute (ISCI) is a component of Japan’s initiative to secure the critical infrastructure.

Cyber Secure Device Certification
ISASecure Means More Security
Robustness Testing: Saves Lives, Money
Siemens CERT Gains Achilles Status

“With ISCI, we are going to accelerate our global certification and make a contribution to the establishment and improvement of the secure society as well as of secure Japan,” said Kobayashi Hideaki, laboratory director of IPA security center.

IPA will translate the certification program specification into Japanese and will maintain future updates to the Japanese language ISASecure specification. The translated ISASecure specification will post to a Japanese language section of the website for use in the Japanese IAC cyber security community.

Schneider Bold

Adoption of ISASecure certification by Japan IPA expands the ISCI community from suppliers and asset owners to government entities.

The IPA will translate additional ISASecure certifications developed by ISCI when they become available.

The IPA joined ISCI as a Government member in July 2012 to participate in the development of future ISASecure certification offerings including the System Security Assurance (SSA) certification planned for launch at the end of 2012.

The SSA certification expands the scope of ISASecure certifications beyond embedded devices and will include entire control systems such as DCS and SCADA systems.

“We welcome the support and input from IPA and their team of distinguished IAC cyber security professionals,” said Andre Ristaino, managing director of ISCI.

To provide local support for ISASecure certification, the IPA is establishing ISO/IEC accredited ISASecure certification testing facilities in Japan.

The basis of the ISASecure certification specifications come from international standards such as ISO/IEC 15408, ISO/IEC 2700x, ISA99/IEC 62443 and industry accepted cyber security practices for IAC systems development and integration methodologies with the intent to establish a single, globally recognized certification.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This